clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Carabao Cup Draw: Leicester to host Arsenal in 3rd round

Foxes to host Gunners in what is very unlikely to be a preview of the Europa League final!

Arsenal FC v Leicester City - Premier League
Arsenal in the 3rd round? Are you havin’ a laugh?
Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Leicester City will host Arsenal in the 3rd round of the Carabao Cup on 22 or 23 September at the King Power. This match represents the only one guaranteed to have two Premier League sides. In fact, it’s the only one not pending results from the 2nd round which will happen during the week of the 15th.

This tie marks only the third time the Foxes and the Gunners have been drawn against each other in the League Cup. In 1974, the two sides drew at Highbury with Leicester winning the replay at Filbert Street through goals by Len Glover and Malcolm Munro. In 1991, the Gunners returned the favor by drawing at Filbert Street and then taking the replay at Highbury with goals from Ian Wright and Paul Merson.

City reached the semi-finals of the competition in 2020, defeating Newcastle, Luton Town, Burton Albion, and Everton on the way. The Foxes’ run came to an end achingly close to the final, falling by an aggregate score of 3-2 to Aston Villa.

The FA failed to notify Leicester that the handball rule had been suspended for the match, which was unfortunate. Not as unfortunate as how we played, mind you.

The full slate of 3rd round fixtures:

Leicester City v Arsenal
West Bromwich Albion or Harrogate v Southampton or Brentford
Newport or Cambridge v Oxford United or Watford
Fleetwood Town or Port Vale v Everton or Salford
Leyton Orient or Plymouth v Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United or Charlton Athletic v Leeds United or Hull City
Bradford City or Lincoln Town v Liverpool
Bristol City or Northampton v Burton Albion or Aston Villa
Morecambe United or Oldham Athletic v Newcastle or Blackburn Rovers
Manchester City v Bournemouth or Crystal Palace
Millwall or Cheltenham Town v Burnley or Sheffield United
Chelsea v Middlesbrough or Barnsley
Wolverhampton Wanderers or Stoke City v Gillingham or Coventry